The duties of the zakat giver

There are the following duties which the zakat giver should perform:

1. One should realise the true purpose of the zakat. It consists of three things: To test one`s love towards Allah SWT by making him give out what he loves; To purify one`s soul from the destructive quality of greed; To be grateful for the blessings of property.

2. Keeping zakat a secret to avoid hypocrisy. In giving it, there is humiliation of the poor. If one is afraid of the slander that “He did not give zakat”, one may give it to the needy in public and to others secretly.

3. One should not spoil their zakat by reproaching and torment.Reproaching can be occurred when a person makes a donation to the needy. In fact, a poor man who receives his zakat will receive what Allah SWT commanded him and will do him good by purging his property from the right of others. If the zakat giver thinks deeply, his zakat is not a relationship between him and the recipient but the gratitude for the blessings of property. Therefore, a poor person should not be humiliated by poverty, because virtue is not in the presence or absence of property.

4. What he gives should be considered small, because the person who thinks his work is big means that he is proud of it. A good job will be complete with three things: considering it small, speeding it up and keeping it secret.

5. The zakat giver should give the most halal, the best and the most favourite ones from his wealth. Allah SWT is the most Pure, he does not accept anything except the pure. As for the best one, Allah SWT says: “And do not aim toward the defective while donating”. (Surah al- Baqarah, verse 267)

We should understand two things in this meaning:

The first one is to fulfill the right of Allah SWT. It is carried out by praising Him. He is the most Praiseworthy. After all, if a person serves bad food to his guests, he himself will not be satisfied! So how can he give bad ones from his property to Allah as zakat?

The second one is to fulfill his own right. One's zakat, which he gave, will come up to him on a judgment day, that`s why he should give the best of his wealth.

As for giving the most favourite one of his wealth as zakat, Allah SWT says:

You will never attain the good [reward] until you spend [in the way of Allah ] from that which you love”. (Surah Ali’Imran, verse 92)

Abdullah Ibn Umar (R.A.) used to sacrifice any of his properties for Allah, when his love towards that property was increased. According to legend, one day he said that he wanted to eat fish. They searched and searched, in the end they found only one fish. His wife cooked it and brought. That time a poor man came. Ibn Umar (R.A.) giving him the fish said: "Take". Then his people said, "Subhanallah! Will you give him what we brought with difficulty? After all there's another thing". Then Ibn Umar (R.A.) replied: “Abdullah had fallen in love with it”.

According to legend a beggar knocked Rabi Ibn al-Haytham`s (R.A.) door. “Give him some sugar”, said the owner of the house. They asked: “Would it better to give him some bread?”. Rabi Ibn al-Haytham (R.A.) answered: “God damn you, give him some sugar! Rabi loves sugar”.ought with difficulty? After all there's another thing". Then Ibn Umar (R.A.) replied: “Abdullah had fallen in love with it”.

According to legend a beggar knocked Rabi Ibn al-Haytham`s (R.A.) door. “Give him some sugar”, said the owner of the house. They asked: “Would it better to give him some bread?”. Rabi Ibn al-Haytham (R.A.) answered: “God damn you, give him some sugar! Rabi loves sugar”.

6. The zakat giver should find a person who deserves to receive his zakat. They must have the following qualities:

The first quality: piety. It is better to give one`s zakat to the pious. By this the zakat giver increases their magnanimity towards Allah SWT. Omir Ibn Abdullah Ibn Zubair  used to choose the moments when the devout worshippers prostrate down. He used to bring and put a bag of dinars and dirhams without being seen and he just used to let them feel that he had put his wallet in front of their leather overshoes. They asked him: “Can’t you simply give your alms to them?” He replied: “I do not want their faces to change when they see me or my representative”.

The second quality: to be knowledgeable. To give property to the knowledgeable is to help promote science and religion. And this is to strengthen the Sharia.

The third quality: “To be a person who believes that giving blessings is only from Allah SWT”. Such a person should not be complimented with what caused the sustenance, because it is evident that when a person who is accustomed to praise when he receives something, he defames him when he cannot get.

The fourth quality: to be the one who hides his poverty and need and does not complain openly.

To be like those people whom Allah SWT describes as follows: “…they would think them self-sufficient because of their restraint”. (Surah al-Baqarah, verse 273)

The fifth quality: They should be of those people who are married, in debt and seriously ill.

The sixth quality: They must be from close relatives, because the charity made to them is considered both charity and mercy towards family members. If anyone has two or more of these qualities, it is better to give zakat to such kind of person.

Sheikh Muhammad Sadik Muhammad Yusuf

(From the book "Salvation of the muslim")

13 June

Обязанности дающего закят

Есть следующие обязанности, которые должен выполнять дающий закят:

1. Нужно осознать истинное назначение закята. Он состоит из трех вещей: испытать свою любовь к Аллаху СВТ, заставив себя отдать то, что любишь; очистить свою душу от разрушительного качества жадности; быть благодарным за дар собственности.

2. Держать закят в секрете, чтобы избежать лицемерия. Отдавая его, вы унижаете бедных. Если человек боится клеветы, что "Он не давал закят", он может дать его нуждающимся публично а другим тайно.

3. Не следует портить закят упреками и мучениями. Упрек может возникнуть, когда человек делает пожертвование нуждающимся. На самом деле, бедный человек, который получает его закят, получит то, что Аллах СВТ повелел ему, и сделает ему добро, очистив его собственность от прав других. Если дающий закят глубоко задумается, закят это не отношения между ним и получателем, а благодарность за дар собственности. Поэтому бедный человек не должен унижаться бедностью, потому что добродетель не в наличии или отсутствии собственности.

4. То, что он дает, должно считаться малым, потому что человек, считающий свою работу большой, гордится ею. Хорошая работа будет дополнена тремя вещами: считать ее маленькой, ускорять ее и держать в секрете.

5. Дающий закят должен давать из своего богатства самый халяльный, самый лучший и самый любимый. Аллах СВТ самый чистый, он не принимает ничего, кроме чистого. Что касается лучшего, Аллах СВТ говорит:

"И не стремитесь раздать в качестве пожертвования дурное". (Сура аль - Бакара, аят 267)

Мы должны понимать две вещи в этом смысле:

Первый - исполнить право Аллаха СВТ. Это осуществляется путем восхваления его. Он самый достойный похвалы. Ведь если человек подает плохую еду своим гостям, он сам не будет доволен! Так как же он может дать плохое из своей собственности Аллаху в качестве закята?

Второй - реализовать свое право. Закят, который он дал, придет к нему в Судный день, поэтому он должен отдать лучшее из своего богатства.

Что касается предоставления самого любимого из его богатства, как закят, Аллах СВТ говорит:

"Вы не обретете благочестия, пока не будете расходовать из того, что вы любите". (Сура Аль Имран, аят 92)

Абдулла ибн Умар (Р. А.) приносил в жертву Аллаху любое свое имущество, когда его любовь к этому имуществу возрастала. По легенде, однажды он сказал, что хочет есть рыбу. Они искали и искали, в итоге нашли только одну рыбу. Жена его приготовила и принесла. В тот момент пришел бедняк. Ибн Умар (Р. А.), давая ему рыбу, сказал: "Возьми". Тогда его народ сказал: "Субханаллах! Вы дадите ему то, что мы принесли с трудом? Ведь есть еще кое-что другое". Тогда Ибн Умар (Р. А.) ответил: "Абдулла полюбил эту рыбу".

Согласно легенде, нищий постучал в дверь Раби Ибн аль-Хайсама (Р. А.). "Дайте ему сахара", - сказал хозяин дома. Они спросили: "Не лучше ли дать ему хлеба?". Раби Ибн аль-Хайсам (Р. А.) ответил: "Будьте вы прокляты, дайте ему немного сахара! Раби любит сахар".

6. Дающий закят должен найти человека, который заслуживает получить его закят. Они должны обладать следующими качествами:

Первое качество: благочестие. Лучше отдать свой закят благочестивым. Тем самым дающий закят увеличивает свое великодушие к Аллаху СВТ. Омир ибн Абдулла ибн Зубайр обычно выбирал моменты, когда благочестивые поклонники падали ниц. Он приносил и ставил мешок динаров и дирхамов так, чтобы их никто не видел, и давал им почувствовать, что положил кашелёк перед их кожаными галошами. Они спросили его: "Не можешь ли ты просто подать им милостыню?" Он ответил: "Я не хочу, чтобы их лица менялись, когда они видят меня или моего представителя".

Второе качество: быть знающим. Давать собственность знающим - значит способствовать развитию науки и религии. И это для укрепления шариата.

Третье качество: "быть человеком, который верит, что благословение исходит только от Аллаха". Такому человеку не следует хвалить то, что послужило причиной пропитания, потому что очевидно, что когда человек, привыкший хвалить, когда он что-то получает, он порочит его, когда не может получить.

Четвертое качество: быть тем, кто скрывает свою бедность и нужду и не жалуется открыто.

Чтобы быть похожими на тех людей, которых Аллах СВТ описывает следующим образом:

"...Неосведомленный считает их богачами по причине их скромности". (Сура аль-Бакара, аят 273)

Пятое качество: они должны быть из тех людей, которые женаты, в долгах и тяжело больны.

Шестое качество: они должны быть из числа близких родственников, потому что благотворительность к ним считается как благотворительностью, так и милосердием к членам семьи. Если у кого-то есть два или более из этих качеств, лучше дать закят такому человеку.

Шейх Мухаммад Садик Мухаммад Юсуф

(Из книги "Спасение мусульманина")

13 Июнь